Au pair in New Zealand

Au pair programs and visa information in New Zealand:

Under the working holiday schemes, young citizens of various countries, that have working holiday scheme agreements with New Zealand, may travel to New Zealand for a holiday and undertake employment during their stay. Currently the following countries have Working Holiday Scheme agreements with New Zealand: Argentina, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Chile, China, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong SAR, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Latvia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, the United States and Uruguay.

Au pairs from coming from these countries can be eligible for a work visa and permit to work in New Zealand for 12 months if they meet the requirements of the scheme they are applying under. In order for nationals of these countries to be eligible to enter the working holiday scheme they must meet the following criteria:

- Applicants must be aged no less than 18 and no more than 30 years

- They must not be accompanied by children

- Applicants must provide evidence of sufficient funds to purchase return travel

- They must meet the conditions of the particular scheme they are applying under

Once an au pair has entered the working holiday scheme and worked in New Zealand for a year, they are not eligible to come to New Zealand for any further working holiday.